EuroPLEx Summer School 2021

The EuroPLEx Summer School 2021 will be held in Edinburgh from August 22 to September 3, 2021.

The objective of the school is to provide a 2 weeks high-profile training on particle physics phenomenology, theoretical quantum field theory, lattice field theory and associated topics in algorithmics and HPC practices.

The event has a capacity of 45 students, 15 of which will be the EuroPLEx fellows. The 30 non-EuroPLEx students will be selected on academic grounds during Spring 2021 by the Local Organising Committee of the School.

The main aim of the event is to provide a world-leading set of lectures in an exceptional environment, in order to forge a strong community amongst the current generation of PhD students. The EuroPLEx Summer School is strongly committed to diversity.


Peter Boyle (BNL & The University of Edinburgh) Computational methods
Martha Constantinou (Temple University) Renormalisation and improvement
Gergely Endrődi (Universität Bielefeld) Finite temperature and density on the lattice
Maxwell Hansen (University of Edinburgh) Quantum field theory in a Euclidean and finite volume
Uwe-Jens Wiese (University of Bern) Hamiltonian approach to lattice gauge theories

Registration: Indico page of the EuroPLEx Summer School 2021


International Advisory Committee
Simon Catterall
Zohreh Davoudi
Gerald Dunne
Markus Elsing
Mikko Laine
Jong-Wang Lee
Laurent Lellouch
Maria Paola Lombardo
Phiala Shanahan
Steven Sharpe


Local Organizing Committee
Felix Erben
Luigi Del Debbio
Vera Gülpers
Antonin Portelli